Posted in Challenges

{Day 5: Can Yoongi Save Me?} – 30 Day BTS Challenge

30 Day BTS Challenge (2)

{DAY 5} – BTS Song that best suits the relationship you & your bias have?

[To clarify, the question is asking us to choose a BTS song that depicts the relationship that we would like to have with our bias.]

I think I would have to go with Save Me on this one. Unfortunately, I’m not fluent in Korean (although I wish with all my heart that I was). So I’ve had to find English translations of the Save Me song lyrics.

Credit goes to: http://bts-trans.tumblr.com/post/143688626320/lyrics-save-me-by-bts
Also, if you haven’t listened to the song already, here’s it is: 

Now, I’m going to explain why I think Save Me (which also happens to be one of my favourite BTS songs) describes the relationship I wish Yoongi and I had.

Lyrics: “Don’t wanna be lonely / Just wanna be yours.”

Explanation: I think it’s pretty self explanatory but I’ll add a little more to it. As reserved as I am, I really do hate the thought of being alone. Although I’m socially awkward, I like having a little circle of close friends and family members to confide in. And that’s how I think of Yoongi. I believe he’d be a great listener and would always be there to offer wise advice and that’s the type of people I strive to be around most. I hope I don’t sound too needy with the “Just wanna be yours.” line but my reasoning is that I think it’s important, especially in a romantic relationship, that you acknowledge the “I’m hers” and “I’m his” aspect of it, but not to the point where it gets possessive, of course.It just makes you feel wanted and needed, which I think is essential in a relationship. (っ˘з(˘⌣˘ ) ♡

Lyrics: “I knew that you were my saviour / From the painful parts of my life.”

Explanation: In my opinion, for a successful relationship, both parties have to be able to recognize their strengths and weaknesses. In other words, they should be in good terms with who they are. It might sound cheesy and extremely cliché but a good relationship is all about bringing out the good side in people and improving the not-so-good side of people. I think that’s what’s meant by ‘saving’ in this song, not necessarily rescuing but being the other half of them that they need to get by in life.

Lyrics: “Thank you, for doing this for me / For letting me fly / For giving me wings like this (to fly)

Explanation: This connects to the other point I made about both individuals in the relationship completing each other and helping each other work on their weaknesses while relishing the strengths. The purpose of a relationship is to enable those involved in the relationship to achieve their goals by believing in each other and displaying undying trust and respect. Or as Rap Monster put it in this line, simply letting each other fly and giving each other wings.

I think this went from a fun little challenge post to being my go-to guide for relationship advice. Oh well, hope you guys enjoyed this post regardless! 

Leave a Reply

